The Children Need Our Voices

rinoa

Postby rinoa » Thu Mar 11, 2004 7:18 am

Por: Yolanda Rosaly
Subdirectora ESCENARIO

For the past two years, he has studied the horrible consequences of the commerical exploitation of children. Today, hundreds of thousands of children around the world are exploited both sexually and for labor. The perpertrators of these crimes work to undermine children, offering them promies of work, education, and marriage, student grants and work opportunities for modeling or dancing..

"When I was 12 years old, I began in the music business with Menudo.
I worked as a child because it was my decision and I was treated very well.
Lamentably many children, even at 4 years old, are forced to work.

I have created People for Children to create a conscience for this problem and raise a voice.
My wish is that together we can save these lives. They need your help.
It is time to do something for these children.

The children need our voices.

Ricky Martin"

This is part of what you can read of the message from the Boricua star which is being sent to the world at the
internet site created to inform the public about this terible problem of child abuse. People for Children is a part of the Ricky Martin Foundation. You can access teh website at

peopleforchildren.comwww.peopleforchildren.com

In april of 2003, ESCENARIO published an interview made by Ricky Martin in which the singer for the first
time talked of this topic. Then, the singer was emphatic about his wish to give priorities to this mission. And now he has done it.

After 2 years of working intensely, so much that Ricky like Mirel Bravo, a young prican that worked on the tour
production of LLVL of the singer, launched the site this past Friday night.