Message From John

renee
Abstracts Royalty

Postby renee » Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:39 pm

Haven't been to L-83 in awhile and ran across this....

Happy new year!!! Hope you’re all healthy and happy and stocked up on boredom. I’m only just beginning to figure out where the hell I am lately. It’s almost like I woke up after a 4 year dream and now I’m 27, but I don’t have as much to show for it as you’d think. Career stuff, sure, but I’m not even considering that right now. I’m just trying to find that “bloomâ€￾ as a person. Trying to live a normal life without emotionally relying on the fact that I’m an artist, or that I can just get on the road and leave my problems behind. I’m playing with the same rules as the rest of the world now, and I love it.

So I’ll be taking some time off from touring, but not from playing and thinking about music. I’m taking advantage of all the opportunity I’ve earned in the last few years by playing on some other people’s albums. Just finished a track I wrote and recorded with Herbie Hancock for his upcoming CD, and I’ll be on a couple of cuts on John Scofield’s next disc. Lots of other stuff, too, but I’ll let you find out on your own. As for the fate of my next album, I won’t take too long before giving you something new to listen to. I just know all too well that once you press the “startâ€￾ button, the ride doesn’t stop for 18 months.