Trl Voting Tips

User avatar
bookeyna
Newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 12:27 am
Contact:

Postby bookeyna » Tue Dec 16, 2003 9:05 pm

Hey everybody,
Found this interesting tid bit at another message board. Credit goes to FreekMeJC for giving the info.
By the way, his 'Some Girls...' video debut at #10 today on TRL. Let's get cracking (or should I say dialing)!! LOL
Later bookeyna

TRL Voting Tips
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From a couple of different artists' fansites:

Here are some helpful hints to use when voting on MTV's Total Request Live

I. Telephone Voting (1-800-DIAL-MTV)

#1 - Each phone request is worth 50 online votes, this makes a huge difference in video totals. If you can call in, that is best.

#2 - Phone votes only count during a specific timeframe, depending on your time zone:

1-800-DIAL-MTV (1-800-342-5688 )

Eastern Time Zone: 4:30 - 5:00 P.M.
Central Time Zone: 3:30 - 4:00 P.M.
Mountain Time Zone: 2:30 - 3:00 P.M.
Pacific Time Zone: 1:30 - 2:00 P.M.

The first 10 minutes of the half hour are the easiest to get through.

#3 - The system is automated.

Press 1 to vote for your favorite artist
-or-
Press 2 to vote for your favorite video.

Press the first three letters, corresponding to the numbers on your phone, of the artist or video of your choice (whichever category you chose).

After a moment, it will say "Thank you for voting for..." and it will say the name of the video, as their computers recognize it. You've voted.

#4 - You are only able to vote 3 times per phone line. So, if you have additional phone lines available to you, call from them as well.

Today's votes are for tomorrow's countdown.

VOTING DAYS
Monday Votes --- Tuesday Results
Tuesday Votes --- Wednesday Results
Wednesday Votes --- Thursday Results
Thursday Votes --- Friday Results
Friday Votes --- Monday Results

*No votes are placed on weekends*



II. Online Voting

1. You should to be able to vote as much as you want using the online form 24 hours a day....however, we've been told that the MTV/TRL website places cookies on your computer that will only count "so many" of your votes. You can either delete your cookies after voting a few times, or block cookies from MTV (easier).

You can block cookies like this:
Go to Tools, Internet Option, Privacy tab, Edit, type mtv.com and block.

2. Vote! And vote again. Do not use the "back button" on your browser. MTV does not count votes that were done from the "back button." You have to reenter info. (So you can see it's much easier and efficient to phone in if you can.)

ONLINE RULES:

1) Anybody, no matter where you live (in the United States or outside), may
vote.

2) You may vote online at any time of the day or night and as many times as you want.

Return to “Joshua Chasez”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest